The messenger – don’t shoot him.

The thing is, like most other writers around, I have a mental list of actors who form the cast of my stories. This list floats around in my head, changing on an almost daily basis. I never usually assign an actor to a certain character before I have a solid mental picture of the character though.

I find it confusing and annoying when you read something and then see it and while the image of the actor doesn’t always match the image of the character in your head, it slowly becomes the image of the character you see in your head when you read.

Tonight, I went to see a movie with some friends and I believe I’ve found a suitable casting (hypothetically, of course!) for a supporting role in one of my WIPs. However, my choice might be seen as slightly controversial.

So first I’ll ask you this question:

Who is your dream cast for your novel/s?

3 thoughts on “The messenger – don’t shoot him.

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    Actually, I purposely avoid “casting” my cast with “real” actors! I have images of the characters in my head that aren’t drawn from anyone I know. It would probably be hard for me to picture any actor portraying one of my characters if that day ever came. 🙂

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      I do feel that way for most characters but sometimes, even if an actors image doesn’t match the one in my head, their characteristics really strike me as similar. Sometimes it can be quite eerie.

  2. blindkingofbohemia says:

    I want Bernard Hill to play the Old Man in my novel. Not that he necessarily looks similar… he’s just such a good actor, and fits the role very well. I also want Karl Urban to play Aarin von Sacramonth, but only because I know him personally 😀

Leave a Reply

