Top Ten Settings I’d Like to See More Of

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by thelovely people at The Broke and Bookish

This week’s list is settings I’d like to see more of. Or at all, for that matter.

7. Alien planets.

What I would really like to see is a story set on an alien planet that isn’t either an overly sci-fi commentary on society or a rendition of H.G.Wells The Time Machine. I think it would be brilliant if someone has the courage to write a high school romance set in some far flung galaxy.

6. Ancient Greece.

Let me specify; Ancient Greece without a mention of the Trojan War or at least, without any heavy handed references to same.

5. Rainforests

Dark, leaf filled places. Plenty of spots for villians to hide or heroes to seek refuge. And they’re endagered. What better way to raise the profile of the humble rainforest than set a story there. The only place I have ever seen this done anywhere close to well is in Suzanne Collins’ Catching Fire.

4. Historically accurate anywhere.

3. Historically accurate pre-roman Britain.

Just a hint, fellow writers, knights in shining armor is very un-pre-roman Britain.

2. Scandanavia.

Icy landscape filled with incredible beauty and whose people have developed an amazing fortitude needed just to survive the harsh climate. Perfect ingredients for a story. Just add conflict and stir.

1. Mythical China/Japan.

These countries are so full of natural beauty and their history basically writes the stories itself.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Settings I’d Like to See More Of

  1. Julie Israel says:

    Good call, especially with numbers 2 and 5. The only stories I can think of in a rainforest setting are Rudyard Kipling’s Jungle Book and Horacio Quiroga’s Juan Darien. How sad is that? Is it possible, you think, that rainforest settings are becoming rarer as real rainforests disappear, too?

    Also, I would LOVE to see Scandinavia in story!!! The largest part of my heritage is Scandinavian and my grandmother gave me this children’s book when I was little (which I still have, because I love it) called Per and the Dala Horse. It is a wonderful story about a little boy who rescues a pilfered golden cup from goblins with a spelled toy horse made of wood. Anyways, would love to see more stories set there, literary or genre or children’s or whatever!

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      I think your rainforest hypothesis maybe right, which is a real pity. And that Scandanavian story sounds amazing. You are so lucky to have such a connection to the stories, myths and heritage of that place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

