Top Ten Most Frustrating Charaters. Ever.

toptentuesday

So, I have finally succumbed to the listiness that is Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and Bookish. Today’s topic is the Most Frustrating Characters. Like, evah.

I think the best way to do this is to count backwards so here goes:

10. Konstantin Levin (Anna Karenin, Leo Tolstoy)

The only reason he’s on this list is because I can never seem to be able to predict what he will say next. To me, he seems to full of contradictions. Apparently, he’s meant to reflect Tolstoy’s own views on life, God and farming. Well, at least he’s no Mary-Sue.

9. Damon Wolfblade (The Hythrun Chronicles, Jennifer Fallon)

The supposed hero of this epic coming of age, redemption trilogy. I liked him, he was a decent character. But he could have been so much more and that is what frustrates me; his untapped potential.

8. Achilles (The Iliad, Homer)

Yep, life sucks when your mum’s a goddess who insisted on holding onto your ankle when she dipped you in magical life protecting waters.

7. Theon Greyjoy (A Song of Ice and Fire, George R.R. Martin)

I hated him and hated him for (SPOILERS) betraying the Starks. I wanted him dead. More than dead. Why do you have to be so conflicted, Theon? You’re not that bad a guy!

6. Cho Chang (Harry Potter, J.K. Rowling)

Her whole romance with Harry seemed forced. Did someone dare you to date him?

5. Susan Pevensie (Chronicles of Narnia, C.S.L Lewis)

I think my main frustartion with Susan is the (SPOILERS) knowledge that after everything they go through in Narnia, turns her back on the lessons she learnt there. Why oh why, Susan?

4. Emma (Emma, Jane Austen)

What can I say? Did not like. Cannot make it past the first few pages before I gag at her overbearing meddlesomeness.

3. Robb Stark (A Song of Ice and Fire, George R.R. Martin)

Mostly Robb frustrates me because he lives in Westeros, where anything good that might happen doesn’t and where anything bad does, found love and expected not to have to pay the price. Bad move, Robb, very bad move.

2. Bella Swan (Twilight, Stephanie Meyer)

Need I explain? I will anyway. In the eyes of dear, sweet, innocent Bella, having your boyfriend skip town for a few months is worse than all the atrocities, wars and genocides in the history of the world. Put together. To quote the movie Brave, “poor wee lamb.”

Last and definately the Most Frustrating Character Like Evah….

1. Froddo Baggins (Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien)

Perhaps this is because I have only seen the movie version of Return of the King but please, stop complaining, Frodo. To hear you tell it, Sam wasn’t there at all, helping you though and carrying you when you fell. Deal, little hobbit.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Frustrating Charaters. Ever.

  1. kathils says:

    “Deal, little hobbit.” Okay, I’m laughing at that and can see it flying out of my mouth the next time I’m faced with a whiner.

  2. Julianne says:

    Oh, Levin. The worst bit is when he suddenly changes his mind about farming and the way to treat your workers. Oh, actually, I’m supposed to lord it up over them all after all!

  3. Raewyn Hewitt says:

    I’m a huge Tolkien fan so was all ready to jump to Frodo’s defence. But honestly… you’ve got a point. There was an annoying class thing going on with Sam too… And I never bought Cho either.

  4. Story Addict says:

    LOL great post. For all the ones I’m familiar with, which is 9/10, I have to agree. I would probably add Katniss to my list as #10. But these irritating characters are what make reading about them fun. They’re so frustrating that they serve as a nice clash to the others. Plus we just want to smack them upside the head 😉

Leave a Reply

