Top Ten Favourite Quotes

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the delightful folks at The Broke and Bookish.

Today we could choose our topic. Yay! I’ve gone for my Top Ten Favourite Quotes. There are some quotes that stay with you, long after a book is read and laid aside. They sit in your heart and remind you that words have a power and a meaning beyond the surface. They can hold you together or break you apart. Here is my Top Ten Quotes.

1. The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss.

You do not know the first note of the music that moves me.

2. The Last Battle, C.S. Lewis.

The dream is ended: this is the morning.

3. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, Tom Stoppard.

There must have been a moment, at the beginning, were we could have said — no. But somehow we missed it.

4. The Book Thief, Marcus Zusak.

I am haunted by humans.

5. The Book Thief, Marcus Zusak.

It kills me sometimes, how people die.

6. The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss.

 I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. You may have heard of me.

7. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, Tom Stoppard.

We cross our bridges when we come to them and burn them behind us, with nothing to show for our progress except a memory of the smell of smoke, and a presumption that once our eyes watered.

8. Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin.

The man who passes the sentence should swing the sword. If you would take a man’s life, you owe it to him to look into his eyes and hear his final words. And if you cannot bear to do that, then perhaps the man does not deserve to die.

9. The Fellowship of the Ring, J.R.R. Tolkien.

Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.

10. To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee

I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It’s when you know you’re licked before you begin, but you begin anyway and see it through no matter what.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Quotes

  1. Amy Peveto (@AmyPeveto) says:

    The Name of the Wind is an amazing work of literature. I need to pick up the next in the series, but I don’t want it to end!

    I’ve read To Kill a Mockingbird several times, the first time in high school. It definitely shakes you up and affects you more deeply than you’d think.

    Thank you for sharing these quotes with me.

    Here’s my TTT for the week. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

