Uninspired.

Like all writers, there are some times when I’d rather do anything but write. It sounds awful, I know. I love writing and it’s a great way to relax but the fact remains that some days writing feels like a chore. If you’ve ever been in the same situation then I am happy to announce I have compiled a short list of things to  do to reinspire our writing minds. Hopefully they work as well for you as they have for me.

1. Get out. Explore. Wander Travel. Whether it’s taking the dog for a walk or road tripping with friends, the idea is to get outside, reconnect with nature, get those endorphins flowing and as my dad always used to say ‘getting some air to the brain’. As much as some of us want to ignore it, movement and exercise does help brain function. Also, by going to a place you may not have been to before, all the new sights and experiences should start those creative juices flowing. Just don’t forget to take a notepad with you!

2. Quotes are a great place to start reinspiring yourself and now with almost every quote any recent author ever spoke available at your fingertips, advice from some of the greatest authors is just a click away.

3. People watching. I’m not ashamed to admit I do this all the time. I’ve noticed some writers have a tendency to hide in their dark lairs, tapping away and cursing at the blank screen when inspiration takes a holiday. It is easy to forget, caught up in our own little worlds, that the real world exists and that at some level, that is what we are trying to emulate, even if it is only interpersonal interactions. The best way to learn how people interact is to watch them. Friends and family are okay but because their habits and behaviours are so familiar to you, it may be difficult to work out their machinations but strangers you can observe objectively. There are so many characters out in the real world, going about their lives, waiting for you to observe them and write them into posterity.

I know there’s only three tips here but they should be able to inspire you to write again. They certainly worked for me. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Uninspired.

  1. Nerissa Moonshine says:

    Or the cemetery! I know it sounds bizarre, but boy are there a huge amount of great name ideas. And if you don’t appreciate the headstone art like I do, it’s still quite a relaxing, peaceful walk 😉

  2. Tony says:

    My Dad says something similar. When we aren’t exercising enough he warns us we will get “fat on the brain” Crazy Dads , eh?

Leave a Reply

