Why WIPpet doesn’t always happen…

…And why I’ve been on unannounced hiatus.

To be fair, I’ve no real excuse except to say that writing essays has had to be my priority and I seem unable to multitask well between academic and creative writing. I also feel that the time I spend writing blog posts is time sometimes better spent elsewhere and that I’m not getting as much out of my blog as I’d like. So that’s why I’ve been away. But now I am back.

In honour of today’s date and my unpreparedness, I have only 11 words for you. I’ll try to make them good ones.

“I thought we were fighting for independence, not a different tyranny.”

 

10 thoughts on “Why WIPpet doesn’t always happen…

  1. Kate Sparkes says:

    You know, normally I’d complain about eleven words, but those eleven words kicked ass, so I’m just going to enjoy them.

    I totally understand the feeling, too. I haven’t been able to write anything since I’ve been channelling my creativity into other things. It’s like my brain can’t switch gears… a bit like yours, I guess.

    Glad to have you back, though!

  2. Eden says:

    I can relate. If I hadn’t been practically pushing myself to make my five sentences a day goal, I would fast be running out of WIPprogress and soon come to WIDesk. These eleven words are excellent ones though. They really set a mood.

  3. Shan Jeniah Burton says:

    I am a multitasker – and I find that I go through ebbs and flows of creativity, and sometimes, I just need input, and there aren’t any words…but they always come back.

    Last week, I edited, and watched TV, and read some, and moved furniture, and worked out, and hung with my family a lot. I wrote a few hundred words that weren’t editing notes or blogging.

    This week, I’ve already written thousands (five, maybe, if they were all added together) of words, and I feel the dam opening….I’m learning that it opens faster if I allow those non-writing days when I need them.

    I love your eleven words. I’ve thought for a long time that that is a definite problem with revolutions….they seem to be more about fighting against than creating, and that too often leads to just another form of whatever was already there…

    Welcome back….love the new blog background!

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      🙂 Thanks for your feedback on the background and the welcome. Also glad to see that you enjoyed the eleven words and got the message that sits in that passage, even without the rest of the context. 🙂

  4. Emily Witt says:

    I totally get not being able to do academic writing and creative writing – I went through about two years of barely writing anything for my own pleasure because I lost all my passion while I was writing essays.

    I really love the WIPpet – a very powerful statement.

Leave a Reply

