WIPpetology

wippet

WIPpetology: the scientific study of the WIPpet in its natural environment. It should be a thing. We can make it a thing. But I can’t right now because I’ve expended my daily allotment of genius of coming up with the word ‘WIPpetology’. So yeah, onto the main event. I’m being super nice today and giving you 28 lines based on the WIPpet math that 18 + 9 = 27 and the extra line is a bonus one.

To set the scene, Tasyn has been convinced by Tekmal (who you may remember from the whole accidently-but-sort-of-deliberate arrow incident) to speak before an assembly of people in the pub one night. This is when he’s mingling before the speech.

He struggled against the tide, peering over the heads of his well-wishers to find Rea. She still stood in the shadow of the doorway, hesitant.

‘Rea!’ he called, fighting his way back to her, ‘Stop hiding, stop hiding, if only for tonight.’ Jovially, he dragged her forward, ‘A drink for the lady!’ he bellowed across the room.

The silence that followed was desolate, broken only by the sounds of sobbing as Aemi escaped through a back door.

Tasyn faltered, searching the face of those around him. Distrust, suspicion and hatred contorted their features as the silence dragged on.

Eventually, Tekmal’s voice shattered the eerie quiet, ‘You heard him, fetch Rea a drink!’

Reluctantly, a mug was shoved roughly at Rea, who barely managed to grab hold of it before it spilled down her dress. With the tension broken, conversation slowly began to return.

‘I’m sorry,’ Tasyn told Rea gently, studiously ignoring the interest of those around him, ‘I don’t know why they…well…’

‘I’m used to it,’ Rea assured him, ‘I don’t belong here. I’ll go home now.’ She turned towards the door.

‘No. Stay. Show them that you are not afraid of their petty judgements,’ Rea looked doubtful, ‘Please.’ He begged.

‘Fine,’ Rea agreed, ‘I’ll go get us another drink,’ she smiled, ‘There’s a glob of something that looks mysteriously like spit in mine and that one your holding is at least third hand.’

Tasyn screwed up his nose and passed the half empty mug to Rea, ‘Thanks.’

He returned her smile as she went to look for some more of the valley’s finest honey mead.

Feeling a tap on his shoulder, Tasyn spun around and found himself face to face with a weathered farmer.

‘Hello?’

‘The name’s Grenthem, m’lord.’ The farmer said by way of introduction.

‘Please, Grenthem, call me Tasyn,’ he insisted, uncomfortable with the honorific.’

‘Well then, Tasyn, don’t matter what I call you but round these parts we call her,’ he nodded in Rea’s direction, ‘trouble. And best if you remember it.’

 

16 thoughts on “WIPpetology

  1. kathils says:

    Aw, poor Rea! Although, I’ve been called Trouble a time or two as well. Completely innocent of all charges, of course. *cough* I love how the farmer phrases his reaction to Tasyn. “don’t matter what I call you” . And very nice graphic image of the drinks — ewwww — glob of something. Blech. 😉

  2. Adrian says:

    You know…there was a movie once about stuff that waiters and waitresses do to food/drinks of people they don’t like…definitely makes me think twice about eating out sometimes. =P icky!

    Great excerpt. =D

  3. Jae says:

    I like the interactions of the people. I get a good sense of them and their personalities. But I feel like I’m lacking a sense of environment. Maybe drop in a few details here and there of what’s around them, give me just a dash more of worldbuilding. Other than that, great!

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      Oh, good point. It may be because its taken sort of out of context but I’ll definitely look over it again. I have a tendency to sometimes forget to describe a location because its so vivid in my own head that I know what’s what. Oops! 🙂

      • Jae says:

        I know what you mean. I tend to do the same thing. That’s why critique partners are great. They remind us of things we still haven’t translated from our heads to paper. 🙂

  4. ReGi McClain says:

    How generous of you. 🙂

    I’m not sure how I should feel about these two characters. I know Tasyn played Aemi, right? But now Rea’s pregnant. That came up a couple of WIPpets ago, I think.I don’t know whether to feel sorry for Rea or if I should think of them both as meanies with little regard for others’ feelings. Hence, I’m not sure whether to cheer on Rea’s decision to not care about others’ judgement, or if her concern was actually a sign that she was beginning to think outside herself. Hmm…

  5. booksbysmiles says:

    Ewwww for globby spit-ridden drinks! Speaking of which, I read the WIPpet this morning but didn’t have time to comment before dashing off to work. However, that thought inspired me to tell my husband to spew snot on prescription glasses at his work because the detestable Higher-Ups were coming into town and well… screw trying to impress snobby Higher-Ups. He laughed. Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. Emily Witt says:

    I feel like that final line requires a very theatrical “Oooooohhhhhh!” to follow it. I loved the awkwardness and tension when everything went quiet and the gradual breaking of the ice with the line about the glob of something in the drink.

Leave a Reply

