Once Again Wednesday

wippet

First of all, updates:

1. You can find my second instalment in my notebook series here

2. If you want a visual cue for any of my characters you can find resemblances on my pinterest boards: Rebellion Rising and Queen of Hearts

3. I’ll be doing a post on my own experiences at developing a language for my world on Monday, the 28th October. Get excited!

Onto the main event of the day, the WIPpet. This will be the second last WIPpet before NaNo, during which I hope to post snippets from my Nano novel provided they’re fit for human consumption. So today is the 23rd….

This excerpt is from the 23rd page of the manuscript and consists of 117 words in an attempt to appease those who get annoyed when I post short bits. To give you context, people are going places and yeah.

‘I hear you’re leaving.’ Rea remarked.

Tasyn jumped. He hadn’t thought she could see him where he stood in the shadows of the dim hut. In hindsight he was lucky she hadn’t misconstrued his intentions.

‘Yes. Tomorrow. How did you know?’

‘Aemi.’

‘Oh.’ He cleared his throat.

‘When do you leave?’

‘Tomorrow. At first light.’

‘Can I ask where you’re going? Or is it a secret?’ she grinned.

He grinned back, relieved she wasn’t upset, ‘To Vestlichdas. There’s some boy Tekmal needs brought back to the valley.’

‘Vestlichdas,’ Rea mused, ‘is that far?’

‘Far enough.’

‘And when will you return?’

‘It depends. Three months from now, perhaps. Five. A year if I’m unlucky. Never if I’m dead.’

And on the topic of NaNo, my user name for that is Amelia Browne so add me as a writing buddy. 😀

19 thoughts on “Once Again Wednesday

  1. kathils says:

    I love that last line. “Never if I’m dead.” Such a realistic view of things. Or he’s just a pessimist. 😉 A very nice exchange between the two.

    Oh, and many thanks for the Gerard Butler distraction. *ahem* Definitely some other eye candy on both links, but he takes the cake, the pie, the whole freaking bakery (and hopefully I’m in it when he does!).

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      I think you may have some competition on that count 😛 And as for Tasyn, I would paint him as a stark realist. He’s not really a pessimist but he’s not super optimistic about things. At least not at this point in the game. 🙂

  2. Kate Sparkes says:

    I wouldn’t say I get annoyed with the short bits, just disappointed. This was a very nice snippet, and I appreciate Tasyn’s attitude. Cock-eyed optimists can get so irritating after a while. 🙂

  3. Jae says:

    Added you to my NaNo buddy list. 🙂 Is this excerpt from Tasyn’s POV? I’d like to see just a little more reactionary description interspersed with the dialogue. Good places to let us know what Tasyn thinks about the current situation.

  4. Eden says:

    Well, first, hope you don’t mind that I added you as a NaNobuddy. Don’t worry… I’m generally quiet as long as I get my truffles and tea. 😉

    Lots of pretty eye-candy on your Pintrest boards there. Somehow I never saw Tasyn as that cute. It’s a lot of fun watching the process and inspiration behind a story. Thanks for sharing it. 😀

      • Eden says:

        I understand. Finding the right image for my characters is why I haven’t actually started a Pintrest board for them….

        Do you find it helps you more to create those boards? I know a lot of people who do them, and most of them seem to find the browsing of pictures both fun and distracting. Still, I’m curious.

      • Ink and Papyrus says:

        The browsing is definitely distracting but the images are helpful in the sense that it makes it easier to explain to other people what’s going on in my head. Usually, I search out pictures that are physically similar to the mental pictures I have in my head and are either in a similar situation to an event or have an expression on their face that sums up something about the character. There are other pictures I see which prompt snippets and so I write those underneath the pinned picture so I can capture that moment for later edits. 🙂

      • Eden says:

        Ah! Thanks. Still not sure I’m up to adding another project to things, but who knows… What’s the worst that can happen? I don’t use it much?

  5. Christina Olson says:

    Lovely snippet! The first part made me wonder why he had been hanging out in the shadows, and the last bit about how long he might be gone made me giggle.

    Great pinterest pages! I can’t wait to look at them some more when I get home 🙂

Leave a Reply

