The Notebook, NaNo Edition, Part the First.

IMG_0495

In honour of November, writing, and all things NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, I’m not going to repeat it again), this weeks notebook entry is of the first scrawlings that led to this years story. How exciting!

It all began with a question, but first some context. The heroine of my NaNo project is a secondary character in Queen of Hearts who has been involved in the undercurrents of life in Bridam since a young age. She has no family to speak of except a distant man who may or may not be her father and would never acknowledge her even if he was. This man hates the royal family, believing his family are the rightful heirs to the throne. Anyway, long story short, he offers her the chance of a family in return for a favour. Which leads to the question: What if the Queen didn’t die in childbirth? What if Eri killed her? Which then give her all sorts of motive for hating that family and helping Kara later on in Queen of Hearts. Mind explosion! At least on my part. 😀

5 thoughts on “The Notebook, NaNo Edition, Part the First.

  1. Shan Jeniah Burton says:

    I’m sitting at 7.090 now. Taking a break from NaNoing to watch Star Trek the First, and to read WIPpets.

    This is my 4th NaNo, and I am going for a completed 100k draft…essentially two NaNos. In order to keep up with my two scene a day goal, I did maybe 50k worth of prepping. I have, for the first time ever, a detailed outline with openings, middles and endpoints for each scene, and cheat sheets to list the relevant details for every scene, on the side of my Scrivener screens. It’s early yet, and i may lose my pace, but this WIP won’t sag and drag in the middle, like my others have. And I think there’s already a lot less wandering around…

    I love when a question leads in so many new directions my mind spins! Run with it, revel with it, and may your imagination soar and your fingers fly! =D

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      Wow, that is an amazing amount of prep for NaNo but it sounds like you know where its going which is always good. 🙂 I’m just taking it a scene at a time at the moment, making sure everything is pointing to the major points that it needs to reach. 🙂

Leave a Reply

