An Apology of Sorts and the Approproate Recompensation

Hello hello, apologies for my unexpected absence from the WordPress scene. And I had been doing so well with frequent posts, up to three a week. There were huge storms up around my part of the world last week and I have been out of internet for over a week. the only reason last weeks WIPpet appeared at all was thanks to the amazing schedule feature. As such, there was no review this week but there will be next Monday and I’m looking forward to sharing it with you.

Now, to the main order of today, an excerpt from my WIPpet as part of WIPpet Wednesday hosted by the gracious Kathi Schwengel. You can, as always, find the other participants here. 🙂 The following is almost 300 words from chapter 22 of Queen of Hearts. An attempt at a battle scene, or at least, the lead up to one.

From the edge of the forest, Kara watched Adelton burn, the purplish tips of the flames peeking over the walls. Through the trees to her right, she caught a glimpse of Markey’s banner, the green and brown all but merging with the forest. At her left, Alexandru headed his pikemen. On the far side of the city, hidden by its bulk, the rest of Kara’s army waited. Tiemil and Eriden led the left flank, Lord Simeon of Linmore led his men and Lady Fytton’s men in the centre while Lord Arundel Lynkwood took command of the right. Kara signalled and a horn sounded a soaring note above the chaos. An answering call came from beyond the city followed by a cloud of burning arrows. They landed within the walls and for a split second there was silence. Then a boom! Boom! Boom! The sound of hundreds of barrels of Gaborian Passion hidden around the city exploding. Kara smiled. From her right, an answering shadow flew from strung bows to join the pandemonium. If only Anjez were here to see his plan in action.

A huge bang sounded as another volley followed the first two. In an eruption of dust, the towers of Lord Alment’s castle crumbled to rubble.

The latest Lord Alment uttered a strangled gasp, ‘You promised me my city whole!’

‘Did I?’ Kara replied.

A soldier’s shout brought Kara’s attention back to the main gates which cracked open.

‘Come, men! The time is upon us and Victory rides with us! Let’s make her proud! Var uhs Fariel!’

Var uhs Fariel!’ her men echoed, shaking the leaves from the trees with their voices.

Kara led the charge towards the gate. No Haelean dog would escape with their life. Kara could promise her brother’s memory that much.

In other exciting news, I have a job interview tomorrow which will hopefully lead to a tutoring job which will help boost my chances of going on exchange. Fingers crossed. 🙂

20 thoughts on “An Apology of Sorts and the Approproate Recompensation

  1. kathils says:

    Good luck on the job interview. I hope it goes well for you.

    Kara is a bit…well…I’m not sure I like her. In this scene she comes off cold and hungry. And I don’t mean hungry for breakfast. I think when she laughs at the explosions is when I want to slap her. But that’s good, because you’ve drawn an excellent scene that pulled me in almost immediately.

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      Thanks for the good wishes. 🙂 And as for Kara’s character, she definately has something villainous in her which makes her so interesting to write. As much as she wants peace in the end her desire for vengeance often controls her.

  2. Kate Sparkes says:

    Welcome back, and good luck on your interview!

    Wow, long WIPpet from you. Yaaay! Great scene, too. I love your descriptions.

    I like Kara here. A strong, ruthless woman is always interesting (even if she doesn’t seem like someone I’d like to meet in real life!)

  3. Raewyn Hewitt says:

    DId I? Bwahahahaha! I like Kara too, she has an attitude that’s fun to read, no doubt fun to write, but probably not so great in real life. Glad you’re up and on the net again. Hope all has settled down on the storm front!

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      The weather has been heaps better lately which is appreciated. 🙂 And as for Kara, although she is interesting to write I think I agree with you about not wanting to deal with her in real life. 🙂

  4. Amy says:

    I loved how you blended the action with the motivation here. I know others above said they thought Kara was maybe ruthless, but people do things for a reason (unless they are Evil Megalomaniacs). Seems like she has the right motivation but maybe the wrong solution. That could spell trouble.

  5. Eden says:

    My favorite part?
    “Did I?”

    I could so picture the mock-innocence in Kara’s expression here, the stupefied choking of the lord… The whole scene came alive in those two words.

    Sorry about the internet issues. Glad you’re back and hope that interview gives you what you hope for. 😀

Leave a Reply

