The Perils and Pitfalls of Not Being Bothered

I’m writing this post in the twenty minutes before I have to run to class because I know if I leave it until this evening, I’ll be in one of those why bother moods. But before we get into the main purpose of today, the WIPpet, here’s an update on progress so far. Before I moved back to college I managed to do some basic editing on Queen of Hearts, at which stage I realised I knew absolutely nothing about how to edit an entire novel without cutting it into worse shape than it is already in. So I began to read and read and read amd reblog any articles that looked relevant or interesting. I’m considering who I want to beta my next draft and which of my readers I want to save for later. The tricky thing is, although people have said they are willing to read my work and I have a vague idea of their skills and focuses, this is the first time I’ve looked for readers. Really the first time I’ve shared any of my writing with people I know rather than strangers. For me, it has always been easier to take criticism from someone who doesn’t know you than from someone who you still have to see everyday. Anyway, that’s where things stand at the moment.

Onto the WIPpet, hosted as always by the lovely Kathi who has just revealed the amazing cover for her next book which you can find here. Here are the first few sentences of Chapter 12 in Queen of Hearts. 

For three weeks they marched north, each step bringing them closer to death or victory. Scouts reported an enemy force more than three times that of the force Karavere commanded in the king’s name marching south to meet them. That first day as they rode out, Kara had forced herself to resist the childish temptation which insisted she turn in the saddle to see the colours of the lords who had flocked to her banner.

Next week I hope to post up some drawings I’ve done of the various architectures of my world, inspired by the history of architecture class I am taking which is proving to be amazing. 🙂

 

15 thoughts on “The Perils and Pitfalls of Not Being Bothered

  1. Emily Witt says:

    I have been enjoying the stuff you’ve been reblogging for the same reason; I really have no idea what I’m doing and while apparently all the post-it notes on my manuscript look impressive (I keep getting “Wow! You’re so organised!” and such comments) I kind of got to a point where I didn’t know what to do next.

    I can definitely understand Kara wanting to look back. Just to see and get that smug feeling of knowing how many are following.

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      Thanks 🙂 At this point she is still just a girl playing at being an adult. I think this scene helps illustrate that especially when I look ahead at later scenes and see how much she has grown and developed. At this point she still has some of her innocence left.

  2. kathils says:

    Well, you know, she could just casually stretch, roll her shoulders, do a little twist back and forth of the spine…all those long hours in the saddle…It has to be both a thrill and, on some level, terrifying to know that so many are following you.

  3. Amy says:

    I think I would have a hard time resisting that temptation too. LOL!

    I have nothing useful to say about editing a whole novel. I’ve never even done the post-its others refer to. I’m probably the least organized writer ever when it comes to editing my own stuff, though by the time I sent it to my betas, I’d combed through the entire thing 3 times. It’s been through round 1 of betas and another round of my own edits, and now a second round of betas. But I’m a big-picture person, so I guess it works for me. 🙂

    • Ink and Papyrus says:

      I think editing does really come down to what works for each person rather than a standard method that works for everyone. It’s just a matter of finding what works best for me so hopefully it will pick up soon. 🙂 Betas always help though.

  4. ReGi McClain says:

    I can relate to Kara. I think I’d be feeling the same silly impulse. Only, I’d probably not be strong enough to resist it. I might even find some excuse to ride my horse backwards for a while…

  5. shanjeniah says:

    I would just look. Then raise my arm in a salute and brazen through….or, in my fantasy, I would!

    I was lost with editing, too, until I read Rock Your Revisions. Paid $2.99 for the Kindle version. It takes some substantial background work if you haven’t plotted the previous draft. For me, though, it gives just enough structure for me to build a plan.

    I’m just getting into the first of three targeted revision passes. I’m using a non-linear order, revising the pivotal scenes first, then moving in order through the connecting scenes. Hopefully, that will help me keep things consistent.

    It sounds like you’re searching hard to find the best approach for you. In the end, whatever that is is less important than that it suit you, and get you where you want to go.

    I’ll know if this system is working for me over the next months, as I move through the process. So far, so good….I feel like, although the going is slow, I’m not grasping at straws like I used to be.

    May you find whatever gives you the same feeling!

Leave a Reply

