Return of the Blogger: ROW80 initiation

I’ve been gone from here for a while now. That is partly due to exams and partly due to other things as well which I won’t go into detail here. In the time I’ve been absent I’ve done an abysmally non-existent amount of writing and while I should feel some level of guilt, I don’t. The thing is, as much as I love writing and despite the emotional investment I have in my characters and stories I have never been the sort to sit down and over the period of a few months, write a novel. I write in snippets; I might have a good day or week or even month but then I’ll save the document and it will sit there untouched for six months or more. This fact has made me question a lot of things, including whether or not I am serious about this writing thing, whether I really am aiming to be a published author or whether I’m using writing as a procrastination tool. I think the answer is a mixture of both really. I do really want to be a published author but I don’t think I’m ready to be heading down that path just yet. Despite this blog being initially a place to document the journey from manuscript to publication, I know that right now, my writing isn’t ready and I’m not ready. And that’s ok. So for now, yes, writing may just be a hobby, a way to procrastinate, something I do every now and then rather than every day but I don’t mind. My worst fear, I suppose, is that were I to take this whole writing gig too seriously, I would grow to hate it. I don’t deal well with structure and boundaries, with cage like deadlines and expectations that I do something a certain way. This is the moment when I stop writing the way I’ve been told, the way others write, and begin to explore my own style. I’ve done copious amounts of research while I’ve not been writing but now it is time to forge my own path.

With that in mind, I’ve put my name down for this cycle of ROW80. (You can find out more about ROW80 on their blog.) This was really a spur of the moment decision but we’ll see how it goes. I’m not going to promise you the earth, I won’t be able to make two posts a week about this and my goals will be long term rather than weekly or daily.

So here goes:

Edit Queen of Hearts

It currently stands at about 30 chapters. I doubt I’ll finish edits within this cycle but I hope to edit a chapter a week. By the end of this week I should have the feedback from my betas who were kind enough to review the first seven chapters for me so that will hopefully lead to some major overhauls where appropriate.

Write

At least brainstorm and plan if not write a short story (between 1500-3000 words) every month so by the end of the cycle I should have three done.

Blog

Twice a week when I can, no guilt when I can’t.

Create

While I’ve been on hiatus I’ve been dabbling in language creation, taking the mess of language I’d already created and adding structure to it. I hope to write a post about it in the next few weeks because I find it fascinating and I would love to share it with you.

6 thoughts on “Return of the Blogger: ROW80 initiation

  1. K. Willsen says:

    It’s good to be objective in your view of how, when and why you write. I’m an aspiring conlanger; (never made a language but I love inventing codes and writing systems.) As soon as I have enough a good enough grasp of linguistics, I’ll be inventing a language of my own; so I look forward to reading about yours.

    All you best with your RoW80 goals. I look forward to your posts.

    • Amelia E. Browne says:

      Thanks 🙂 And good luck with your own conlanging too. I’ve only recently started exploring the online conlanging community and I’m pleasantly surprised by how many people are interested in this sort of thing. I mostly focus on the language, designing a writing system is not my area of expertise. 🙂

  2. rachelalsowrites says:

    You’re back!!! 😀 I’ve just emailed my edits back to you (I meant to do it on Sunday, but, you know, England…) I can’t wait to read your post about language, it’s so interesting! And your ROW80 posts – I guess we’ll both explore this together!

  3. Tia Bach says:

    Wishing you all the best on your goals in Round 3. Keep writing. The more you do, the better you’ll get. You will know when you are ready, and keeping at it is the way to get there.

Leave a Reply

