Merry Wednesday.

Update time again! Despite my consistently weak intros to my posts and regular complaints about Wednesday, I do actually enjoy both sharing my own progress with you all and reading everyone’s excerpts. 🙂

So, progress. Writing is going well and I’ve surpassed my previous NaNo record by about 10,000 words which I’m super happy with. Although I’m a bit behind at the moment, I still think finishing on 50,000 is well within reach. Editing on Queen of Hearts is ahead of schedule (still looking for interested betas). Language creation has been on a small hiatus for a while but I’m not really too fussed about that. And in more practical measures, I’ve almost done everything I need to do before I head to the UK at the end of December. 🙂

WIPpet TIME 😀 As usual WIPpet Wedensday is hosted by the lovely K.L. Schwengel and you can check in on the other WIPpeteers here.

Today’s excerpt is from Chapter 26 (so far unedited) of Queen of Hearts. A scene from the lead up to the last major battle of Kara’s war.

High in the pass, three hundred archers wait, cursing the droughts tugging at their hair, seeping beneath layers of clothing and sabotaging their bowstrings. It was bad enough keeping the weapons strung for hours on end without the cold too but what could they do? The lords had told them to keep their bows strung and so strung they would stay. After all, what do lords know of a common man’s weapons? Little and less. The archers mutter to themselves and their captains hush them with stern faces. They wait to turn snow to red slush.

7 thoughts on “Merry Wednesday.

  1. kathils says:

    That last line…awesome. Gruesome but oh so awesome. And I like the comment “what do lords know of a common man’s weapons? Little and less.” It’s so true in many areas of life, and really highlights a class-line division in your world.

  2. Beth Camp says:

    Really enjoyed the taut sense of immediacy just before a battle, with those archers fully aware of what awaited them, all deftly revealed in a short paragraph. Using present tense heightens the tension — and the gap between classes. Also, thanks for the idea to take from a Chapter for the day, as this keeps the excerpt short!

  3. Emily Witt says:

    So I have to basically echo what others have already said here, but I love that “After all, what do lords know of a common man’s weapons? Little and less.” It’s very succinct but it says so much.

Leave a Reply

