WIPpet Wednesday

The votes for my character interviews have been going well so far. At the moment, it looks like Kalegos is in the lead! Which is both exciting and daunting because he is definitely the character that I know least about right now.

In the last two weeks of my SSHK interviews, the race is between Kalegos and Zri. See any of my previous posts for a synopsis of the two. 🙂 Once this round is finished, I’ll be moving onto the characters from Queen of Hearts which should already be slightly more familiar to you.

Now, onto the main business of today.

WIPpet Wednesday is a weekly blog hop hosted by Emily Witt. Anyone is welcome to join and you can do so here.

Today I’ll be sharing with you a snippet from Queen of Hearts which follows on from the last few weeks. 103 words: 10(0) for the day, 2 for the month plus 1 for luck. 🙂

Three days later, the rashes on Kara’s arms and neck had faded to angry red splotches. Her throat still burned when she swallowed but the nausea had abated and she could keep down the thin broths Lyea brought her. Propped up on the pillows, she watched the snow falling beyond the window and pondered over what Lyea had told her. The poison that wasn’t designed to kill. A poison made with wild carrot, piril, pomegranate seeds and hyssop. And rue.

“Lyea?” she called.

The maid poked her head around the door to the antechamber. “Lady?”

“Go the Archivist. I need books on botany.”

Other exciting thing that happened this week – I downloaded Scrivener. So far I’m quite enjoying it and I’ll be posting an initial review on Friday. 🙂

9 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday

  1. kathils says:

    Good luck with Scrivener. I’ve used it off and on, and find it less than intuitive. I don’t use it much any more. Every time I make the attempt, I’ve forgotten too much and don’t want to take the time to relearn it! 😉

  2. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Was somebody trying to make her abort? I recognize the rue and wild carrot for the purpose from my own research. 🙂

    I LOVE Scrivener. I don’t come close to taken advantage of all its uses. But being a puzzler of a writer who is constantly jumping back and forth in her manuscripts, it’s perfect for me.

    • Amelia E. Browne says:

      I’m really liking Scrivener so far. And yes, you’re on the money on the purpose of the concoction but the intent by the poisoner was to make sure everyone thought that was what she was trying to do.

  3. Beth Camp says:

    Fascinating snippet, especially given your later comment about the poisoner’s motivations. This snippet presented the symptoms deftly and made me curious about how Kara found out the ingredients to that potion that made her sick. Re Scrivenir, I hope it works better for you. One drawback I discovered is I couldn’t insert jpg photos right in my draft (a trick I use in Word to focus in on the setting and other historical details).

Leave a Reply

