ROW80: Counting Down

We’re entering into the last quarter of this round of ROW80, the finish line is in sight. And because it is a Sunday, it’s time for an update.

Before I get to the update, here’s a quick reminder of my goals for ROW80:

  • read a book a fortnight
  • blog about something other than WIPpet/ROW80
  • practice Swedish/French/Spanish/Russian
  • edit Queen of Hearts 
  • write something, anything
  • prepare my character interview post ahead of time
  • submit job applications

Here’s how I went:

  • read a book a fortnight – I finished Cayla Kluver’s The Queen’s Choice and began Maggie Steifvater’s The Raven Boys. I’ve been powering through that one, despite only reading in on the commute to and from work.
  • blog about something other than WIPpet/ ROW80 –This week, I didn’t post a 100 Days update although I have been staying on track. I was too busy enjoying the extra day of the year to sit inside and write a blog post. I did, however, post my latest character interview with Gwen.
  • practice Swedish/Spanish/French/Russian every day – I finished the duolingo course for Swedish on Friday, two days ahead of schedule, which I was super pleased about. For the rest of ROW80, I’ll be focusing on Spanish and Russian.
  • edit Queen of Hearts – editing is going well though, as usual, not quite to the initial schedule.
  • write something, anything – Success! This has mostly been rewriting/redrafting the second half of Queen of Hearts, plus a couple of drafts for travel pieces.
  • prep my interview with my next character – I did this, but not ahead of time…
  • submit 3 more job applications – no suitable jobs on offer this week 😦

I’ve been mentioning this character interview business a lot but that is because I want you, the readers, to have a say in who I interview next. 🙂 I post them every Saturday.

Here are your options:

Hrithur is Kara’s cousin. The bastard child of a bastard child, he dwells on the periphery of the court.

Ailig knows what it is to be a prince without a country. Forced to flee from their homes a generation earlier, Ailig’s people now rely on the generosity of the Fariliens. And now the same threat that drove them from their homes is poised to attack their new sanctuary. Ailig is determined to make sure his people will not have to flee again.

Anjez is a proud man, a prince of Bashraan…and an ex-slave. He seeks to forge new alliances with Fariel in defiance of his father, the king, but can he truly leave the traumas of his slave past behind him?

Eriden knows forty ways to kill a man with her bare hands. Raised in the slums of Bal Briad, she worked her way up from the child of a whore to the prodigy of the Assassin Guildmaster. But helping Kara defeat her enemy may be Eriden’s hardest task yet.

Lorcan Aelysk is a Haelean nobleman. Caught up in his father’s schemes, he is torn away from the one he loves and sent far to the south, to conquer a place called Fariel.

7 thoughts on “ROW80: Counting Down

  1. alberta says:

    Hrithur sounds a good candidate for an interview – haven’t read either of the books but glad your’e keeping up with your aims – all the best for coming week:)

Leave a Reply

