A Rebeginning

This week feels in many ways, a new start. This post, in fact, feels more like the first post of the next year than my earliest post in January. It feels sort of milestoney in a way I don’t quite understand. But for me, it is a new year. Age wise, at least. I turned 22 and unlike my 21st (which WAS awesome), I felt a subtle change. I’m looking forward to uncovering what  that change might be as the year goes on though. 🙂

The weather has taken a turn for the worse this week and the temperature has plummeted. For March, it’s freezing! Since I downloaded Scrivener a few weeks ago (after an initial period of increased productivity), I have really slowed down on my writing. Because I’m using the trial at the moment, I’ve been trying to ration the days until I can afford to buy the full version. I am also not convinced my computer won’t die on me as soon as I’ve forked out the money. Unless I have a solid couple of hours and a solid work plan, I don’t even open Scrivener. While this means I have been planning my editing time much more effectively, it also means I can’t really get an excerpt for WIPpet Wednesday. Not from the newer bits anyway. What I have been doing is working on the world-building and expanding my characters. Queen of Hearts has a very large cast and it is so easy to blur the lines between the characters. For the reader to be able to distinguish between them, I need to ensure that they are distinct. So that’s what I’ve been up to lately. As for my absence for the past two weeks, there is no excuse but life.

For today’s WIPpet, I have a small Queen of Hearts snippet which I’m thinking of adding in. Unedited. It relates to today by being on my desktop today (and maybe being written on a Wednesday).

The priest paused for effect, his whole body stuck in a moment of motion – hands held high, held tilted back – and then he exhaled and spoke again. Kara shuddered. She had the eerie sense that she’d just seen a statue come to life.

For those of you who remembered me saying I would post an interview for my next WIPpet Wednesday, I considered it. But as I write this post, I am much too tired to play word games with Eriden. She has given me enough trouble today already. You may be in luck on Saturday. I’ll do my best.

3 thoughts on “A Rebeginning

  1. Emily Witt says:

    Ooh, that is creepy. I can exactly imagine it, though.

    Scrivener’s pretty chilled about re-using your licence key on a reformatted/new computer. I’ve had to do it a couple of times and never had any trouble, so if your computer did die just after you splurged on it, shouldn’t be too much of an issue.

Leave a Reply

