WIP WIP

I’m still looking for beta readers for Daughter of Kings, my NA historical fantasy. You can check out the details here.

The other exciting thing that happened this week was that I got instagram. (Link in the sidebar) and not one, not two, but three new books. 😀

Currently reading: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Steifvater. I’m still really loving this series and it’s at my favourite point in any arc – the point where everything begins to crumble beyond repair (at least, that’s where it seems to be headed from what I’ve read so far).

So during April, my writing music consisted of Swedish pop. Language practice and writing music in one. May, though, may has been the month of Bond, James Bond. Gd, I love those theme songs, they’re as suave as my brain wants to be*.

Alright, enough waffle (mmm, waffles!), time to get down to business.

business.gif

WIPpet. This is from a relatively new scene. This is from Chapter 5 (for May). Anjez and Kara were working on the treaty between Fariel and Bashraan. Kara has just finished explaining why it matters to her so much.

“It won’t bring your sister back,” Anjez said.
Kara’s fingers traced an arc over the smooth paper. Her head tilted and for a moment, Anjez thought she would lay it on his shoulder. “Maybe,” she conceded, tilting her head to the opposite side. “And maybe not. Either way, I will see it through until the end.”

*amendment – some of them are, the others make my ears bleed.

Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what kind of music?

10 thoughts on “WIP WIP

  1. AJ says:

    I love someone who goes into something so passionately for one thing while also realizing at the same time it may never happen. Great snippet!

  2. wanderingsandwonderings says:

    I just wanna smoosh Kara in a massive hug. Or smoosh her and Anjez together. Such a great scene!! I am a huge fan of soundtracks when writing (words distract me), and I’m always on the hunt for new and epic ones!

  3. AM says:

    Love this little bit about what’s driving her.

    I can’t listen to any music when I write. When I edit, it has to be something without lyrics. I prefer classical or jazz.

    • Amelia E. Browne says:

      My problem with listening to that kind of music is that I’m so familiar with classical music bc I played in an orchestra for years and I feel like dancing whenever I hear jazz 😛

      • AM says:

        Heh, that’s what I like about classical music. My grandfather was an artist, so I grew up listening to whatever classical he had playing in his studio. I play with an orchestra, so I’m usually listening to whatever we’re playing for the next concert (or faves from past concerts).

Leave a Reply

