Winter is Coming…and I am Unprepared

So editing has been going well so far and I’m sort of where I want to be. Which is really good because I woke with a cold this morning, work is about to get a whole lot more hectic and I’ve promised to get my manuscript to my betas by June 6th. I need to polish about ten more scenes and rewrite the last chapter before the end of the week. Assuming I don’t get any sicker, that shouldn’t be a problem. 🙂

Ok, I should really share my WIPpet now (brain, work!)

Um…ok, here you go. This is from a scene in Daughter of Kings which Scrivener refers to as Scene-11. I don’t actually think it is the eleventh scene anymore. It still totally fits the rules.

Context: Kara’s been locked up.

From the meagre light coming through the high window, Kara counted the passing hours. Night arrived, and with it, cold broth and silence. She pushed the nagging doubts to the back of her head. He would come, she was sure of it. Sooner or later, he would come. In the meantime, she must prepare.

Alright, that’s done. I’m going to bed.

Obligatory reminder that I’m still looking for another couple of beta readers.

Also, if you know a) where one can buy long fingered gloves and b) how to stay warm in a house with neither heating nor insulation, please let me know. Please.

11 thoughts on “Winter is Coming…and I am Unprepared

  1. Emily Witt says:

    So I found out today that the winter course I had intended to do is now running in second semester when I’m already enrolled in something else, so I can beta for you if you like! (I don’t claim to be the best at betaing, but I think habitually reviewing books and making notes of things to mention in reviews has made me a closer reader). Not sure if you have a contact for me already – my email address is fuzzyagent999 @ yahoo dot com dot au.

    Love the snippet – it conveys a lot about how Kara’s feeling in a short space.

  2. S B Williams says:

    Aw, what’s up with the cold house? Amazon has everything, when in doubt, search Amazon lol.
    Have we discussed in previous weeks why Kara is locked up?? OH and who is she waiting for is the next question I had 🙂

Leave a Reply

