WIPpet Wednedsay

I’ve been away from WIPpet Wednesday for some time now and I thought I should return. I was going to last week but I had nothing to share. Luckily for you, this week, I have pages and pages to select something from.

This is a section from Queen of Hearts, quite close to the beginning. It could, conceivably, be on page 3, or maybe page 8.

For context – Kara and her army are holed up in the city of Bal Edeol. The Haelean army waits outside. Inside the city, Lord Alment, the obnoxious Lord of Bal Edeol, refuses to help Kara at all. The following comes from the POV of one of Kara’s commanders and childhood friend.

Ailig patrolled the northern wall as the clock tower tolled the fourth hour. A Savlisian captain came running along the parapet towards him. The captain saluted and swallowed, trying to regain his breath.

“What is it?” Ailig demanded.

“The Haeleans are bringing forth siege engines, my lord,” the captain replied.

Ailig swore. Siege engines? There had been no sign of them a day ago. How had the Haeleans built siege engines in a day? Where did they find the wood? He ran along the parapet towards the western wall, his feet landing precariously close to the sharp drop along the edge. He skidded to a stop above the gate house as the first huge rock soared over the walls and smashed Lord Xiande Alment’s self-aggrandising statue to dust.

 

13 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednedsay

  1. Eden says:

    Well… THAT’s not good! That said, I want to know how their enemy got siege engines in as well!

    And, as a side note, how do you pronounce Xiande? With the X like a “ch” or “sz:?

  2. Emily Witt says:

    Sounds like no one apart from Lord Alment will miss the statue, but deinitely not good that that’s the way it got smashed to pieces.

    I am about halfway through the third part of Daughter of Kings and hope to have it back to you by the end of this week. I’m so sorry I’m taking forever!

  3. shanjeniah says:

    Well, you’re back with an impact, aren’t you?

    I’ve been listening to a lot of the Hamilton soundtrack (which is a HUGE historical musical thing here in the States). So, when I read this, I had a huge impulse to shout:

    “INCOMING!”

    I suppose I should make that make sense….

    If you’re so inclined, you could look up “Right-Hand Man” on YouTube. I won’t share the link here, because it’s explicit, and people have different comfort levels with profanity.

    But you made me smile, even if this is a pretty serious moment. Gotta love that they hit the statue!

      • shanjeniah says:

        I wouldn’t know anything about that. +)

        Just don’t look at my Kindle, which might or might not include a constantly open window for my Amazon Prime Hamilton soundtrack download (with lyrics); the Ron Chernow biography the musical is based on (15% listened to on Audible): another Audible selection, Hamilton vs. Jefferson (rivalry/debates); and ebook copies of The Federalist Papers[ Thomas Paine’s Common Sense; Fifteen Speeches that Shaped America; and the Magna Carta, for comparison.

        If you looked at my bedside bookcase, there might or might not be a coy of Hamilton, an account of history – of the man, and the musical-in-the-making….

        And, if you looked in my clean clothes, you might find an exorbitantly priced T-shirt that reminds us how lucky we are to be alive right now….

        And I may have a 12 year old begging me for a Theodosia/Philip shipfic….

        But it’s not obsession, I tell you. It’s intense fascination! =D

Leave a Reply

