Audiobooks – A Few Thoughts

sourceSo, today, I finished my first ever audiobook and I thought I’d share with you some of my impressions of it.

I’m very much a visual person. Reading from a page or screen gives my eyes something to do while I absorb the story – keeps them under control, I suppose. Audiobooks, on the other hand, don’t give my eyes anything to do. In the first few days, I really struggled to focus on the story. My eyes would find something interesting to look at and the words would fade to little more than background noise.

I primarily listened to the audiobook on my commute to and from work as I’ve found it difficult to read actual books on peak-hour trains packed with so many other people.

Pros: Takes up less room; less likely to stab someone with the corner of the book

Cons: Rattling train carriages and background noise mean I constantly had to adjust volume levels and often couldn’t hear at all. This problem was especially bad on trams. For some reason, they are louder than trains. The things you learn…

After a bit of a learning curve, I ended up really liking the experience and would try it again. I really loved that I could listen while I walked or did the dishes or, even, at work. As someone who is pretty strapped for time to sit and read and who has been struggling to really get into books since I finished uni a year ago, I think audiobooks may end up being the way to go. 🙂

Have you tried audiobooks before? What was your experience like?

8 thoughts on “Audiobooks – A Few Thoughts

  1. Late Summer says:

    I love listening to audiobooks when I’m cleaning house or sitting around doing crafts. It helps me get in some extra books when I’m crunched for time. Plus, audiobooks tend to go a little quicker than I can actually read a book on my own (I’m a bit of a slow reader because I analyze a lot).

      • cyncarverauthor says:

        When I drive on a long and sometimes shorter road trips, I love audio books. I stop into the library and pick up a couple different ones. Another type of audio that I’ve been using more often is connecting my kindle to the radio and have the audio read the book to me. This is slowly replacing the CD’s, as I no longer have a CD player in my vehicle. Driving, still reading the TBR list, one author at a time 🙂

  2. K. L. Schwengel says:

    I’ve never been able to get into audio books. Probably because I’m so good at tuning noise out and my mind tends to drift something terrible. Every time I try to listen to one, I suddenly realize I stopped paying attention somewhere along the line and have to go back. Either that, or I have problems with the narrator’s voice. Especially if I know the characters.

Leave a Reply

