Rapid Fire Booktag

So last week on Instagram, Kyra Thomsen tagged me in the #rapidfirebooktag. Technically, you’re meant to respond on Instagram, and I will, but some of my answers weren’t quite so straightforward so I thought I’d share some of my answers with you here. 🙂

1. E-book or physical?

I lean towards the e-book, even though I have a physical book buying addiction. E-books are easier to read on crowded trains, take with you anywhere and, often, cheaper. Plus, I’m planning on moving overseas at the end of the year, and I tend to move around a lot anyway, so having boxes and boxes of physical books is just not practical. All that said, e-books will never replace the perfection of curling up on the couch and reading a physical book.

2. Paperback or hardback?

Paperback – they’re lighter and often the covers are prettier.

3.  Trilogy or series?

I’m going with trilogy purely because it was the shorter of the two options. Ideally, I prefer stand-alones or duologys, especially for YA or historical fiction. However, I will read well-written adult fantasy series.

4. Recommend and underrated book.

Taliesin by Stephen R. Lawhead. This book is incredible. It stretches from Atlantis to Ancient Britain and tells the tale of Merlin’s parents. Because it is essentially a prequel to the rest of the series, it works nicely as a stand-alone.

5. Last book you bought?

I haven’t bought any for a while but I did get a few for my birthday last week, including Kazuo Ishiguro’s The Buried Giant. So that counts?

6. New or used books?

I do try to be environmentally conscious, and I often use the library but I really dislike buying used books. Reading, and books themselves, are such a deeply emotive, personal thing for me. It feels strange to buy them secondhand, like the ghost of the person who bought the book is still in it. I often borrow books from friends but I don’t get the same feeling – I think because I know them? There’s not the same emotional disconnect as there is with used books when I don’t know anything about the person who used to own them. Weird, I know.

7. Top 3 genres

Hop over to Instagram to see my answer for this one 🙂

8. Character or plot?

Both. As long as there’s a gripping, logical plot, I can overlook some poorly constructed characters. And as long as there are compelling characters, I can overlook a lack of plot development. It does really depend on the genre and whether the work leans towards literary or commercial fiction.

9. Long or short chapters?

Hop over to Instagram to see my answer for this one 🙂

10. Name 3 books that come to mind.

A Darker Shade of Magic | V. E. Schwab

Lord of the Rings | Some guy who’s been pretty un-influential, tbh 😛

Three Daughters of Eve | Elif Shafak

11. A book that made you laugh and cry.

Check out my Instagram post 🙂

12. Our world or fictional?

Fictional! Writing, and reading, is pure escapism for me. And if I had to choose a fictional world, I’d choose the one my Chronicles of Anrien series is set in. Though at maybe a more peaceful time 😛

One thought on “Rapid Fire Booktag

Leave a Reply

