WIPpet Wednesday & an Update

 

Today’s post has two parts – a WIPpet Wednesday snippet and an update on everything else. I’m going to start with the WIPpet Wednesday. If you’re more interested in the update, skip below. 🙂

WIPpet Wednesday

If you’re unfamiliar with WIPpet Wednesday, it’s a weekly bloghop where the only rule is that the excerpt you share must in some way relate to the date. But don’t worry, we get pretty creative with this one. 😉

Today’s excerpt is from the rewrites of my current WIP (check out the update for more details). Related to the date because I wrote it (in this format) this week, and my #1linewed on Instagram features the same scene (somewhat edited).

Context: Kara’s brother hasn’t arrived at their party so she goes looking for him.

‘Wait, Kara!’ Ailig called, running after her. ‘I’ll come with you.’
She smiled softly and shook her head. ‘Go enjoy the party. Bry won’t be far.’
Ailig took a half step backwards. ‘You’re sure?’
Kara nodded. ‘As the sun will rise.’ She waited a moment, until she was sure Ailig would return to the hall, then she sprinted through the gardens to the side door.

Update

So, as I mentioned a few weeks ago, I’m planning to update my website. A lot of time has gone into creating a beautiful, navigable site that I can share with you. I figured this was also the best time to solidify my branding so I’ve been working on a logo that both represents who I am as a writer and acknowledges the cultural history of the world my Anrish stories take place in. Because who I am is so bond with the world that has lived inside my head for so many, many years. I’m really excited to unveil the logo, and the website, in early May. 😀

After splitting Queen of Hearts into two volumes, the first of which I sent to my betas almost a year ago today, I came to the realisation just prior to Christmas that the story works better as a single volume after all but with some major, major changes. So I’ve spent the past few months revising and editing the material for the second volume. Once that was done, I sat down and outlined the whole thing because after so many years of chopping and changing the story structure more resembled an old woolen jumper washed too many times than the tailored piece I need it to be. About 10 days ago, I opened a new Scrivener document, renamed the story, and began to write afresh.

My word count right now is low, but my hopes are high. 🙂

Have you ever started again from scratch? Did you find it daunting? Or invigorating? I’d love to hear your stories. 🙂

4 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday & an Update

  1. wanderingsandwonderings says:

    I always find starting a new draft of an old project simultaneously terrifying and exciting With every new draft, new Scrivener project, new outline, we get closer to the final product! I can’t wait to read more from this incarnation when it’s ready!

  2. Emily Witt says:

    Operation Sugarplum/Memories and Magic has gone through so many iterations. It started as a short story based on the Nutcracker, then as I finished a second draft, I thought, “How can I make my main female character less of a passive observer in the story’s climax?” and then suddenly she was demanding to be a princess with her own story. :p

    I had intended on starting to do #1linewed on Instagram. I might try to put something together tonight.

    That excerpt leaves me with such a sense of foreboding because I’m pretty sure I know/remember what it’s leading up to.

Leave a Reply

