Book Challenge 2017 – Update 2

Goals:

  • Read 20 books
  • Read from unfamiliar genres
  • Read a book from at least ten different countries
    1. Turkey (1)
    2. India (1)
    3. Australia (1)
    4. U.S.A. (3)

I’m embracing different ways of reading this year

 

I was always one of those kids who always had a book at hand. Books were like my safety blanket, I always had to have one, even if I wasn’t reading it. As my life becomes so much busier and nomadic, physical books are, sadly, less practical. Late last year, I started trying out ebooks and audiobooks through the Scribd app. It’s a great way to keep on top of my reading without carrying around a space-taking tome.

Plus, audiobooks are great for the train home from work. My eyes can rest while my mind wanders. 🙂

 Books I’ve read so far in 2017:

  •  The Well at the World’s End | A.J. Mackinnon
  • Truthwitch | Susan Dennard
  • Pink Sari Revolution: A Tale of Women and Power in the Badlands of India | Amana Fonatella-Khan
  • Three Daughters of Eve | Elif Shafak
  • A Darker Shade of Magic | V. E. Schwab
  • Rise of the Sparrows | Sarina Langer

Currently reading:

And I Darken | Kiersten White

 

What format works best for you? Are you a traditionalist or have you embraced the new technologies?

11 thoughts on “Book Challenge 2017 – Update 2

  1. Emily Witt says:

    I was pulled to the Kindle dark side way back in 2011 or 2012 and I have never looked back. Audio books are a bit newer for me, I think I’ve only really got into them in the last 18 months or so. A lot of it had to with them being so expensive, and the free ones were always a bit dodgy, but now that there are so many digital libraries, it’s a lot easier! (I still don’t understand Audible, though).

    How are you finding And I Darken? I gather it’s rather intense.

    • Ríona O'Inabha says:

      It is intense but I’m liking it so far. And yeah, audiobooks can be expensive but with sribd I pay like $13 a month for multiple ebooks/audiobooks so i usually splurge and read a tonne then suspend my account for a few months 😛

  2. wanderingsandwonderings says:

    I love audiobooks, but I’ve always had them growing up. I can’t quite get on with ebooks, but maybe I should check out scribd (not that I need another subscription). I still mostly prefer a good old physical book though!

  3. RedheadedBooklover says:

    Hi there ! I don’t normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

