WIPpet Wednesday – 05.07.17

Welcome, WIPpeteers!

JOIN US

This week, I’ve been continuing my revisions on Arrowsong and, to be honest, I was losing inspiration a little. I’m deep into the middle section, wrestling with wonky structure, clunky prose, and errant characters, and I am so, so ready to be finished.

Earlier tonight, though, I had a bit of a read back over the first few chapters. Although they are still far from perfect, they are so much better than they were, than they could have been even a year ago, and it gives me heart to see how much my writing has improved, how much this story has improved. So while I’m still eager to be Done so I can Move On, I’ve shrugged off the revision weariness and I’m ready to battle on.

Today’s WIPpet (hosted by the talented Emily Witt) is from the 5th scene of Arrowsong. This scene was really, really picked apart and now barely resembles the scene it was. Along the way, a lovely side to Kara emerged, one that I had only glimpsed before but never truly seen.

Kara smiled, the beat of the drums syncing with her heart. Dance. Dance and forget what is coming. She headed for the staircase, a smile spreading across her lips. Her slippered feet glided across the marble floor and she lifted her chin. Make the best of it, she promised herself. And if all else fails, dance.

How do you deal with the revision blues?

10 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday – 05.07.17

  1. jlgfellers says:

    Lovely WIPpet. As for revision blues… sometimes I find it necessary to step away for a while and work on something else. Doing so generally means I can come back with a fresh mindset.

  2. Sophie Li says:

    I love this snippet. It is short but sweet!
    I know what you mean. The middle part is hard to get through, whether it is the first draft or the revisions. Right now I am just starting the 4th draft of my novel. Right now it is going strong, but I was stuck in a rut in between the 3rd and 4th drafts. I knew that something was wrong with my novel but didn’t know what it was or how to fix it. It helped to let a friend read my novel and give me tips. By talking out the problematic aspects of the story, we put together a new outline which I am now more confident in. He also challenged my beliefs about my own characters, and now they have more depth and dimension.
    All the best 🙂

    Sophie

Leave a Reply

