Book Challenge 2016

So, for ROW80 this year, I’ve been trying to read a book a fortnight. I am well aware that this is not a lot, but for a while now, years in fact, I’ve been in a reading slump. I used to read constantly. All the time. I spent most of my study periods in my final year at school with my head stuck in novel.

However, when I started university and moved into a residential college (dorms, to my American friends) the casual reading drifted to a stop. I think the issue was the fact that we had desks in our rooms so whenever I was in my room, I was in academic work mode, not spend the afternoon reading mode. Every time I went home though, even if it was only for a day, I’d go through at least two books. One weekend, I devoured five.

reading

Last year, I could probably count the (not uni) books I read on one hand. Which brings me to now. 26 books in a year is super achievable. At the bookstore where I work, we have a chart where each staff member pledges a book to read a month. It keeps us accountable. So now I’m asking you guys to keep me accountable. 26 books in 2016.

We’re 7 fortnights in to 2016 so I should have read 7 books. This is what I’ve read so far this year:

  • The Raven Boys | Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Queen’s Choice | Cayla Kluver
  • The Captive Prince | C. S. Pacat
  • The Many Coloured Land | Christopher Koch

4/26

Have you set yourself a reading goal for 2016?

How is it progressing?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Challenge 2016

  1. ringaroundtheprose says:

    I’m working on POPSUGAR’s 2016 reading challenge and so far I’ve finished 9/40 (I’m 1 “behind schedule”). The challenge has definitely helped motivate me to read more, and having a blog holds me accountable for my reading which is also great.

    Are there any specific books you have to read for your challenge? Do you know which 26 you’re going to read?

Leave a Reply

